07.27.2002 - 1:16 a.m.
I Come Bearing Trashy Talk Show Entry


I've been inspired by Annie to talk about what I would be like if I went on a trashy talk show (I'll talk about how it would be if I went on Late Night with Conan tonight when I'm watching Conan).

Ahem.

What Would Happen if Phoebe Went on The Jerry Springer Show

Jerry: Hi, and welcome to the Jerry Springer show. Today our topic is My Child Is Plotting To Single-Handedly Take Over The World. Our first guest is Mrs. Phoebe.

Phoebe's Mom: Hello, Jerry.

Jerry: Tell us about yourself.

Phoebe's Mom: Well, I live in Missouri and I enjoy making soap.

Jerry: Like Fight Club soap?

Phoebe's Mom: Er... sure.

Jerry: So, let's talk about your daughter, Phoebe.

Phoebe's Mom: Okay.

Jerry: She wants to single-handedly take over the world.

Phoebe's Mom: Yes.

Jerry: Why?

Phoebe's Mom: I have a sneaking suspicion it has something to do with Ewan McGregor not making People's Top 100 Actors of Our Time list.

Jerry: Now really, I was rather disappointed that the Steve Irwin didn't get on the list.

Phoebe's Mom: Er... Steve Irwin? The... the crocodile hunter?

Jerry: Yes.

Phoebe's Mom: He's not an actor--

Jerry: And let's talk to Mr. Phoebe, now.

Phoebe's Dad: Uhm.

Jerry: So, what's your take on all this?

Phoebe's Mom: Excuse me. You didn't ask me that.

Jerry: Okay. So what's YOUR take on it?

Phoebe's Dad: But--he was asking me a question!

Phoebe's Mom: But it was important he asked me.

Phoebe's Dad: Why?

Phoebe's Mom: ...

Jerry: Okay, so let's bring out Phoebe.

What I'm Wearing: A trench coat and one of those hats that everyone wore in the early 1930's, over a pinstripe suit. But imagine it a bit more feminine. You know, like Esme in A Series Of Unfortunate Events. Stilletto heels. Is that how you spell it? I've never worn them. Lipstick: a sort of dark red, which I can actually pull off. You can't see the rest of my face because my hat is pulled over it.

Phoebe: (waves ecstatically)

Audience boos and hisses

Phoebe: You don't know me! YOU DON'T KNOW ME! YOU DON'T KNOW ME!

Sara: (stands up in middle of audience) I DO!

Phoebe: Well, except you. But the rest of you don't. (looks at Jerry) Why did you dress me up like I was in the mob?

Jerry: It's dramatic to give someone plotting to take over the world an outfit like so.

Phoebe: Oh. These shoes are killing me.

Jerry: Or are you killing the shoes?

The crowd cheers Jerry.

Phoebe: No, I'm pretty sure the shoes are killing me.

Crowd: JERRY! JERRY! JERRY!

Phoebe: Can I sit--

Crowd: JERRY! JERRY! JERRY!

Phoebe: CAN I SIT--

Crowd: JERRY! JERRY! JERRY!

Phoebe: SHUT THE HELL UP!!!!

The crowd is silent.

Phoebe: This outfit is REALLY heavy.

Jerry: Or is it that YOU are really heavy?

Phoebe: (tackles Jerry) YOU BASTARD!

Crowd: JERRY! JERRY! JERRY!

Phoebe: (stands up) OH, WOULD YOU SHUT UP ALREADY!

Crowd is silent.

Phoebe: Can I sit down, now?

Crowd: JE--

Phoebe: (glares at crowd)

Crowd is silent.

Phoebe: PLEASE. This outfit is REALLLLLLY heavy--

A loud THUD as Phoebe falls on the floor.

Phoebe: --and I'm having trouble balancing on these heels.

Jerry: Sure, sit down.

Phoebe: (heaves herself up into chair, stares)

Jerry: So Phoebe, tell us--

Phoebe: Why have you given me a rotating chair?

Jerry: To create the illusion of evil-ness.

Phoebe: I'm not evil.

Jerry: Yes, you are!

Phoebe: No, I'm not! Just because I'm going to single-handedly take over the world, doesn't mean I'm evil!

Jerry: Well, you said you were evil.

Phoebe: No, I didn't!

Jerry: Yes, you did!

Phoebe: NO, I DIDN'T.

Jerry: Yes, you did!

Phoebe: I NEVER SAID I WAS EVIL. YOU KNOW HOW I KNOW I NEVER SAID I WAS EVIL? BECAUSE I WAS THERE WHEN I SAID IT!!!

Jerry: Come on! Play along!

Phoebe: I'm not evil. Sheesh.

Jerry: So anyway--

Phoebe: What do all these buttons do on this chair? (presses one)

A large explosion rattles the building.

Phoebe: Er... haha! (flashes teeth)

Jerry: Uh... (clears throat) So, Phoebe--

Phoebe: (moves the lever around on the chair, the chair starts spinning) WOOHOO!

Jerry: Excuse me, Miss Caprona...

Phoebe: IT'S A F---ING ROTATING CHAIR!!! COOL!!!

Jerry: Can you please stop--

Phoebe: (spins around to face Jerry) WHY ON EARTH WOULD YOU GIVE A TEENAGER AS IMMATURE AS ME A ROTATING CHAIR!? (spins around in it) WOOHOO!

Jerry: Stop, please--

Phoebe: Uh-oh.

Jerry: What?

Phoebe: I can't stop!

Jerry: What do you mean?

Phoebe: I mean, this chair--it won't stop!

Jerry: What?

Phoebe: LOOK! I let go of the lever and it's still going around and around!

Jerry: Er...

Phoebe: And I'm not feeling so great...

Jerry: Well--

Phoebe: (stands up on the chair and walks with the chair in an attempt to stay facing one direction)

The crowd starts booing.

Phoebe: Oh, come on! HONESTLY!

The chair stops spinning.

Phoebe: (sits down in it) Whoo.

Jerry: So, Phoebe, tell us--

The chair suddenly starts spinning about twenty times faster.

Phoebe: OH (beep)!!! (BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP) F(BEEEEEEEP) SH(BEEEEEEEEEEEEP) (BEEEEEEEEEP) (BEEEEEEP) WAHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!

Jerry: Er...

Phoebe: This chair is POSSESSED!!! I NEED AN OLD PRIEST AND A YOUNG PRIEST! THE POWER OF CHRIST COMPELLS YOU! THE POWER OF CHRIST COMPELLS YOU!

The chair stops again.

Phoebe: (leans over) Oh, man. Sick. As. A. Dog. Gonna vomit. Gonna vomit...

Jerry: And now it's time for our Final Thought. Never buy a rotating chair for a guest on your trashy talk show.

There and Back again


09.03.2011 - I, whoa
10.02.2010 - Checking in.
05.21.2006 - I may not always love you
05.21.2005 - Cryptic Entry #1138
03.16.2005 - I was just a girl then


Bill